

The Foundation for New Education Initiatives, Inc. is proud to announce the 2024-2025 Mini-Grant Competition for Schools

Purpose: Foundation for New Education Initiatives, Inc. (FNEI), a direct-support organization of Miami-Dade County Public Schools, is sponsoring a mini-grant competition for all Pre-K through grade 12 schools, including alternative schools, primary learning centers, and specialized centers, to fund special projects and educational tools that promote and enhance innovative and/or creative educational activities which lead to student academic achievement. Over \$300,000 has been awarded to classroom projects since the inception of this competition.

Target Population: Projects may impact students through an individual classroom activity, school-wide program, or district initiative. Projects may include before- or after-school enrichment programs.

Available Funding: Grants in the amount of \$3,000 will be awarded to three (3) schools from each of the three regions for a total of 9 grant awards. Each school may submit one mini-grant application.

Project Period: July 1, 2024, through June 30, 2025

Dissemination Process: The mini-grant application will be disseminated to All Principals/Aps and All Teachers via the district's Weekly Briefings.

Review Process: The review committee will score and rank applications and the three (3) highest-ranked applications, per region, will be awarded. Funds will be deposited into the school's bank account and placed by the school treasurer in a Trust Grant Account. These funds can be used for field trips, entrance fees, and bus rentals. No funds can be used for personnel expenditures. All expenditures must be consistent with applicable Miami-Dade County Public Schools (M-DCPS) policies and procedures.

Review Committee: FNEI Board Members; members of the community; district staff from the Office of Grants Administration, School Operations, and the Office of Community Engagement; and school-site representatives.

Deadline to Submit: Friday, May 24, 2024, at 4:30 p.m.

Board of Directors

Dr. Jose L. Dotres
Carlos Curbelo
Alan H. Fein
Julie A.S. Williamson
Matthew S. Anderson
Suzan McDowell
Phyllis McHenry
Amanda L. Murphy
Maria Norton
Kadisha Phelps
Alfred G. Smith
Jill Tracey
Dale C. Webb